finance

Corrections

First, a disclosure. I am not a licensed financial professional – I just work near them. The following post is strictly an opinion piece. 

So, in case you haven’t been keeping up, the market has been taking a nose dive these last few days.The S&P 500 was down 3.94% just today. This causes my company to get very busy. Financial Advisers on the phone all day assuring clients that this is just a market correction. That we were anticipating a correction – even if we couldn’t predict when – that the bull market is going to continue.

I don’t “play” much in the stock market. I’ve allocations in my account for my monthly investments, and I let my contributions be automatically drafted. But I will say this – I’m not liquidating my portfolio.

I’ve learned a lot working for my company – just listening in the halls is educational. But my firm also holds classes, for those that are interested in learning more. One thing I’ve learned from working in my current job- investing in the market requires emotional detachment.

This is hard – its scary watching you’re portfolio drop. Not knowing when the market will recover. But look at it from a different angle. If you were to get out – how would you know when to get back in? That’s the tricky thing about the market – the not knowing. It’s a double edge sword. Both in the ups and the downs. The best piece of advice I’ve learned from working in the industry? Don’t try and time the market.

Again – a hard piece of advice to follow when you’re worried about what may happen to your money. That’s why it’s important to detach yourself emotionally. Difficult when we’re talking about your life savings. Remember that the stock market is a long-term decision – not to be driven by short bursts of panic that are fanned by the news media.

Reading the advice and columns from experts in the field can help. Maybe find a financial adviser whose opinion you can trust. Gain perspective. Educate yourself. And remember – I’m a layman in the field too, but listening to the talk around the water cooler (and the finance columns online) I’ve learned that patience with the stock market is what is rewarded.

Leave a Reply

